Reviews & Coupon & Compare Prices :)

Amped Wireless High Power 500mW Dual Band AC Wi-Fi USB Adapter (ACA1) Reviews and Coupon

~ Amped Wireless
List Price: $99.99
Price: $79.76 & FREE Shipping. Details
You Save: $20.23 (20%)
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com in certified Frustration-Free Packaging. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow?
Order within 2 hrs 11 mins, and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Is this a gift? This item ships in its own packaging. To keep the contents concealed, select This will be a gift during checkout.


Most Recent Customer Reviews

This product is insanely good

This product is exactly as good as the statistics and specifications employ. It's absolutely perfect. Read more

Published 17 days ago by Barry Durand

Great Customer Service

No hassle warranty. Tech listened to steps I already took and made a warranty decision without going through every step again, like I didn't know what I was doing.

Published 2 months ago by Robert Smilak

Excellent throughput!

This is a powerful adapter, in fact. I have up to 50 mbytes/sec. in 802.11AC within 10m distance paired with Netgear R7000. 2.4Ghz freq. Read more

Published 3 months ago by Andrey

Works great with wireless signals, but is unwieldy and clip design...

This is a terrific product and pulls in a strong signal. It's compliant with the latest wireless standards and the speeds are awesome. Read more

Published 4 months ago by Gautam D. Ramchandani

Just needs one more attenna

This thing is everything it is advertised to be. It is indeed quite fast. The new AC wireless standard promises great speed but the catch is that it is on the 5GHz spectrum. Read more

Published 5 months ago by Jesse J Thompson

Works well when it actually works

We bought 2 of these from Amazon and both died. The first unit died within the return period and we replaced it. After the replacement died, we received a refund. Read more

Published 5 months ago by sb21

Yes, it is fast!

This adapter is blazing fast! Works very well with my new Apple ac router. Solid product and a solid recommendation.

Published 7 months ago by DWS

Just installed full 802.11ac Wi-Fi System

Installed 802.11ac System:
1. ARRIS / Motorola SurfBoard SB6141 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem
2. Apple Airport Extreme (802.11ac)
3.
Read more

Published 7 months ago by Joshua

No go for ACA 1

I tried to install this on a older laptop (Acer 9810 WIN Vista USB 2.0). At first it worked giving me only 380 Mbps with spotty performance , then
it just died.
Read more

Published 7 months ago by Fazone


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Issues with Mac OS

By N. Novik on September 23, 2013

Amazon Verified Purchase

UPDATED:

Unfortunately, I've had to downgrade my original review. The problem is that the adapter doesn't correctly work with the Mac USB ports. If your system goes to sleep and then wakes up or restarts, the adapter will not correctly wake from sleep as well. You have to manually unplug and plug it back in, and then manually reconnect.

The bigger problem is that they don't acknowledge this as a problem of theirs. I contacted support via email and phone and was told:
- I had to disable sleep on my computer (!)
- It was a problem with my USB ports (no, I tried the adapter with multiple ports, some on my thunderbolt display, and I've had multiple drives from multiple manufacturers using the same ports that correctly sleep/wake just fine)
- It was a problem that Apple would have to solve (no, clearly not, since MANY other devices work just fine)

There were no driver updates to try.

So basically, if you're using this on a Mac, you have to manually replug it back in or disable sleep if you want to use it, and they have no plans to fix the issue. For me, sadly, it's going back.

---- ORIGINAL REVIEW BELOW -----

A few tips/negatives:

- The network connection utility software is very decidedly not up to Apple standards of simplicity and good design. When connecting to a network where all you need to do is put in the network password, the screen that pops up is full of loads of configuration options which are mostly greyed out, and the password field is at the bottom. If you are someone intimidated by configuration, don't get overwhelmed, just look for the password field.

- The flashing blue LED is incredibly annoying. Duct tape, here we come!

- It looks like a giant robot bug, seriously.
Read more ›

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

The manufacturer commented on the review below

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

What a Disaster!

By BAR 1019 on November 19, 2013

Don't buy this product! I have now spent 4 hours trying to get it running. The driver will not install from the CD, so I spent an hour waiting on the phone for tech support. They told me the CD was corrupted and to download the driver from their website. Guess what, the installation stopped at the exact same point as on the CD. What really angers me, is the phone cue they put you in. You wait for 15 minutes before the message changes to "We are experiencing higher than expected call volume". This is pure BS. It does this every time you call. In addition, it never tells you where you stand in the cue. While waiting I checked out frequently asked questions on their web site and found other people experiencing the same issue. The only advice offered was to turn off your anti-virus software. I don't even have anti-virus loaded on my computer yet. This company cares very little about customer service, and I would highly recommend you not buy from them.

1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

The manufacturer commented on this review(What's this?)

Amped Wireless Elite Support says

November 19, 2013

B. Rector,
We apologize for the trouble you are having with the unit. Unfortunately our call center does experience high call volumes at some hours and the wait can be a bit long. If you are having issues installing the driver from both the CD and the downloaded file from our website, it seems as there is something blocking the installation on your computer. The file you downloaded from our website has been used by many customers with no issues so it can not be corrupted. Please call our tech support line at 888-573-8820 and ask to speak with a level two technician so that they can assist you with your problem.

Amped Wireless Tech Support
888-573-8820

The manufacturer commented on the review below

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

DOA x 2

By T. Burke on August 31, 2013

Amazon Verified Purchase

The first one I ordered was DOA. Just a big hunk of plastic. They replaced it and the new one worked for a week now its completely dead. I would not recommend getting this product, they must be using crap components. I will send this one back for another replacement because I think that the external antennas can make a big difference on reception, but if it does not work, the external antennas wont help much.

2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

The manufacturer commented on this review(What's this?)

Amped Wireless Elite Support says

September 3, 2013

T. Burke "Tom",
We apologize for the bad experience you have had with the ACA1 adapter. It is very unusual for a customer to experience what you have with two units being bad. Once you have received the replacement unit please call our 888-573-8830 line so that we can put you in contact with a supervisor if you have any questions or concerns.

Amped Wireless Tech Support.
888-573-8820

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Works, whether it's the best option depends on your situation.

By RK on July 29, 2013

Amazon Verified Purchase

I live in an old multi-level house with pretty solid floors and walls. I'm running a 2012 Mac with USB3.0, but no 802.11ac.

Wifi reception has been a bit spotty from the router to my office and the USB3.0 capability suggested this higher-powered ac adapter would be an improvement. It was indeed an improvement over the internal antennae, but in my specific situation-- old solid house with copper wiring, I got better results using a Netgear powerline approach.

If you, however, live in a relatively new place, your walls will be thinner and your wiring likely aluminum-based and not as accommodating to the powerline option. If you're without AC and have USB3.0, this is a good option (and the only 802.11AC option for older Macs at this point).

1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

The manufacturer commented on the review below

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Not the best

By M. Adnan on July 26, 2013

Amazon Verified Purchase

This thing doesn't work better than N only AE3000 from my room. AE3000 has 3 internal antennas (this has 2) and despite being N only, if you are a couple of rooms farther away from the router, the 5G (n) connection on AE3000 is more consistent (always stays at 450 mbits). This one was more like 200 mbits. Occasionally I would see 585mbits for a second but 90% of the time it would stay around 200 mbits.

Perhaps if you are very close to the router this will be faster, being AC and USB 3.0, but I am two rooms down (around 30 feet with a couple of walls).

I have tried many of these USB AC adapters, and honestly none of them performed better than N-Only AE3000 in my room

The only AC adapter that consistently and reliably gave me better connection was PCI Express(3 antenna) ASUS PCE-AC66. That thing was rock solid and always stayed over 700 mbits (sometimes 800 mbits) from my room.

I am giving it 2 stars because the cheaper AC and USB 3.0 (EW-7822UAC) performed better than this, but none of them were worth the money, really. Just get a refurbished AE3000 (very solid on 5G) or get ASUS PCE-AC66 if your computer has PCI Express slot.

2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

The manufacturer commented on this review(What's this?)

Amped Wireless Elite Support says

July 28, 2013

M. Adnan,

We are sorry to hear about your experience with the ACA1. If you are seeing performance issues with multiple 802.11AC adapters, you may want to try looking into your routers setting for the channel number and channel width that it is operating at. There are many factors that may be inhibiting your data rate such as distance, physical obstructions(type of material), and other wireless interference that is operating on the similar frequency or channel. Please take advantage of our US-Based Technical Support to help troubleshoot the cause of this.

Amped Wireless Elite Support
(888) 573-8820

The manufacturer commented on the review below

Dead on arrival... TWICE

By Garry Tan on March 25, 2014

Amazon Verified Purchase

I bought this device through a friend's recommendation: He had one that has been working fine for about 6 months. Last month when the first device arrived, I was unable to power it up. I tried swapping cables and computers but to no avail. Thus, I decided to file for a refund and order a second piece, thinking that it was just an unlucky purchase.

As it turns out, the second device arrived promptly. It powered up for the first 5 minutes before cranking up! The device failed to start up even after restarting the computer or plugging it into another computer/laptop.

I am truly frustrated with the manufacturer's QC and am done with this brand!

3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

The manufacturer commented on this review(What's this?)

Amped Wireless Elite Support says

March 25, 2014

Garry Tan,
We apologize for the trouble you have experienced with the ACA1 unit. If two units have failed for the same reason there is a chance your USB port might be shorting out. It is unlikely that you would receive two units with the same issue. If it is not to late please call our tech support line at 888-573-8820 so that we can address your issue and see how we can do for you for your trouble and inconvenience.

Amped Wireless Tech Support
888-573-8820


Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Buy Used and Save: Buy a Used "Amped Wireless High Power 500mW Dual Band AC Wi-Fi..." and save 30% off the $99.99 list price. Buy with confidence as the condition of this item and its timely delivery are guaranteed under the "Amazon A-to-z Guarantee". See all Used offers.

Product Description

From the Manufacturer

Amped Wireless High Power 500mW Dual Band AC Wi-Fi USB Adapter Range
Amped Wireless High Power 500mW Dual Band AC Wi-Fi USB Adapter Range
Amped Wireless High Power 500mW Dual Band AC Wi-Fi USB Adapter Range

High Power 500mW Dual Band AC Wi-Fi USB Adapter

The Amped Wireless High Power 500mW Dual Band AC Wi-Fi USB Adapter allows your Mac or Windows desktop or laptop computer to connect to Wi-Fi networks from extreme distances and with blazing speed. The ACA1 is a high performance Wi-Fi network adapter that features high power amplifiers and high gain dual band antennas to achieve up to three times the range of standard Wi-Fi adapters. It connects to your PC with USB 3.0 and features AC1200 Wi-Fi technology to provide unprecedented Wi-Fi connection speeds: Up to 300Mbps for 2.4GHz networks and up to 867Mbps for 5.0GHz connections. The ACA1 allows you to stream HD content, download large files and surf the web faster than ever before and with more range.

How the ACA1 High Power AC Wi-Fi Adapter Works How the ACA1 High Power AC Wi-Fi Adapter Works. View larger
USB 3.0 Port Connection Uses USB 3.0 port connection for maximum performance.
Add Long Range Wi-Fi to your Mac or PC

Whether you're using a Mac or Windows laptop or desktop PC, the ACA1 attaches to an available USB port on your computer and provides long range, dual band 2.4GHz and 5.0GHz 802.11ac Wi-Fi connectivity for connecting to your home Wi-Fi network or a Wi-Fi hotspot at maximum speed.

ACA1 High Power AC Wi-Fi Adapter Extra Power Outlet High power dual band amplifiers and omni-directional antenna boost wireless performance by up to 3X! View larger
ACA1 High Power AC Wi-Fi Adapter Setup wizard installs the adapter in minutes Setup wizard installs the adapter in minutes.
ACA1 High Power AC Wi-Fi Adapter Includes a monitor mounting clip Includes a monitor mounting clip.
High Power, Advanced Technology = Increased Wi-Fi Range

Two high power 2.4GHz amplifiers, two high power 5.0GHz amplifiers, low noise amplifiers (increases wireless reception range), and advanced high gain, dual band Wi-Fi antennas provide maximum range and performance.

Ultra-Fast AC Wi-Fi Technology

Next generation 802.11ac Wi-Fi technology provides Wi-Fi speeds up to three times faster than 802.11n. Great for streaming HD video and large data files. AC1200 Wi-Fi speeds provide up to 300Mbps 2.4GHz 802.11n connections or up to 867Mbps 5.0GHz 802.11ac connections.

Simple Setup and WPS Support

Setup is quick and simple: Insert the installation CD, install the software and plug in the High Power Directional USB Adapter. The ACA1 also supports one-touch, WPS push button configuration for setting up new network connections.

USB 3.0 Connectivity

Uses the latest USB 3.0 technology for maximum connections speeds to your Mac or PC. Provides enough bandwidth to take full advantage of 802.11ac Wi-Fi speeds.

Sleek and Travel Friendly

With its sleek enclosure and the included laptop monitor clip, the ACA1 can be mounted onto any laptop monitor for added convenience and mobility.

What's in the Box

High Power 5000mW Dual Band AC Wi-Fi USB adapter, two detachable high gain dual band 5dBi antennas, USB 3.0 cable, setup guide, CD: user's guide and software, and monitor mounting clip.

Technical Specifications

Technology: AC1200
Bands: 2.4/5.0GHz, 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac
Wireless Speed: 2.4GHz: 300Mbps (Tx/Rx), 5.0GHz: 867Mbps (Tx/Rx)
Wireless Output Power: Up to 28dBm (max)
Wireless Security: WEP, WPA, WPA2
Amplifiers: 2 x 2.4GHz amplifiers, 2 x 5.0GHz amplifiers, 4 x low noise amplifiers
Antennas: High Gain Dual Band 5dBi antennas, 2 x RJ-SMA antenna connectors
Interface: USB 3.0
Setup Requirements: Available wireless 2.4GHz or 5.0GHz 802.11a/b/g/n or ac network, Windows XP, Vista, 7, or 8, Mac OS X 10.4 to 10.8, CD/DVD drive, 100MB of free disk space, one available USB 3.0 port. Using USB 2.0 or 1.0 ports will lower speeds.
OS Compatibility: Works with all OS, including Windows and Mac.

Amped Wireless Technical Support Industry leading technical support
and customer service.
Amped Wireles Technical Support

Amped Wireles Free Wi-Fi Analytics Mobile App Includes Free Wi-Fi Analytics Tool Android App to help optimize and analyze Wi-Fi networks.
Increase Range Guarantee Satisfaction guaranteed with the Amped Wireless Range Increase Guarantee.

Amped Wireless USB Adapter Comparison

Standard USB Adapter UA150C UA600 UA1000 UA2000 ACA1 UA600EX
Speed/Standard 54G 150N 300N 300N 600N AC1200 300N
Frequency 2.4GHz 802.11b/g/n 2.4GHz 802.11b/g/n 2.4GHz 802.11b/g/n 2.4GHz 802.11b/g/n 2.4GHz/5.0GHz
802.11a/b/g/n
2.4GHz/5.0GHz
802.11a/b/g/n/ac
2.4GHz 802.11b/g/n
Output Power 50mW 100mW 600mW 500mW 300mW 500mW 600mW
Low Noise Amplifiers
Wireless Range* Standard 2X Standard 3X Standard 3X+ Standard 3X+ Standard 3X+ Standard 4X Standard
Antenna Type Internal External,
Upgradeable
External,
Upgradeable
Internal Internal External,
Upgradeable
Internal and
Optional External
Antenna Gain 0dBi High Gain 3dBi
Omni-directional
High Gain 5dBi
Omni-directional
High Gain
Dual Polarity Directional
High Gain Dual Band,
Dual Polarity Directional
High Gain Dual Band 5dBi
Omni-directional
Professional High Gain Directional
Dual USB Connections (For More Power)
USB 3.0
Works with Mac and PC
Supports WPA, WPA2, WPS
Other Features
Indoor Stand Professional Stand
Mounting Options Laptop Monitor Clip Laptop Monitor Clip Laptop Monitor Clip Wall, Pole, Desktop
Weatherproof Enclosure
Range Increase Guarantee
Included Accessories Dual USB Cable Dual USB Cable Dual USB Cable High Quality USB 3.0 Cable 25ft Dual USB Cable
Free Wi-Fi Analytics Mobile App

Specifications are subject to change without notice.
*Range specifications are based on performance test results. Actual performance may vary due to differences in operating environments, building materials and wireless obstructions. Professional Series Products require point to point, line of sight, wireless connections between other Amped Wireless Professional Series products to achieve stated range specifications. Performance may increase or decrease over the stated specifications based on the overall wireless environment and conditions. Wireless coverage claims are used only as a reference and are not guaranteed as each wireless network is uniquely different.

Product Description

The Amped Wireless High Power 500mW Dual Band AC Wi-Fi USB Adapter allows your Mac or Windows desktop or laptop computer to connect to Wi-Fi networks from extreme distances and with blazing speed. The ACA1 is a high performance Wi-Fi network adapter that features high power amplifiers and high gain dual band antennas to achieve up to three times the range of standard Wi-Fi adapters. It connects to your PC with USB 3.0 and features AC1200 Wi-Fi technology to provide unprecedented Wi-Fi connection speeds: Up to 300Mbps for 2.4GHz networks and up to 867Mbps for 5.0GHz connections. The ACA1 allows you to stream HD content, download large files and surf the web faster than ever before and with more range.
www.reviewluggage.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.
www.reviewluggage.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk.